May 2016, News & Features

Looking forward, looking back

Each year, Saint Augustine’s honors students for their academic achievements. Below, we highlight three of those winners. (A list of winners for 2016 follows.)

Cadet-HeadAustin Jamal Keith Outstanding Senior Student, Division of Military Science

How did it feel to receive your award?  It was a humbling experience for me receiving my award but yet very thankful giving God all the praise for it.”

What do you hope to pursue as a career? “I will pursue a career as an officer in the U.S military.”

What’s one piece of advice that you have for the freshmen in your major? “Don’t take too many courses than you can handle. Keep a great rapport with your professors. Always get work done first before other activities you participate in.”


Naya Patterson Outstanding Senior Student, School of Social and Behavioral Science

How did it feel to receive your award?“I was excited and felt honored to be chosen among so many other talented seniors and students within my department and overall school. It felt great to receive the award but personally it serves as a reminder for me to do more, to keep excelling and to hopefully inspire someone else along the way.”

What do you hope to pursue as a career? I aspire to be an education policy analyst one day.

What’s one piece of advice that you have for the freshmen in your major? For the freshmen pursuing criminal justice, I advise them to get involved on campus, get to know the professors in our department, & take advantage of opportunities for internships right away. It’s okay to not know exactly what you want to do in the field right now, but it is not okay to not have any type of plan at all.


Michelle Bundy Outstanding Senior, School of Science, Mathematics & Public Health

What do you hope to pursue as a career? I hope to become a Mechanical Engineer one day.”

What’s one piece of advice that you have for the freshmen in your major? Get to know the professors and upperclassmen within the department because they are your resources for success.”


Saint Augustine’s University Honors College Students

 The mission of the Honors College is to provide a venue that allows high achieving, dedicated, and highly motivated students to enhance their leadership capacity as they strive to become prominent leaders in today’s global society. Honors Scholars are talented high school seniors with a 3.5 or above grade point average who are Presidential Scholarship recipients, students accepted by Honors College application, and students selected to participate in the Bridge to the Honors College who achieve a 3.5 or higher grade point average in Summer Session II.

Christopher Acevedo
Dre’Von Badger
Rebecca Akeva Bondima
Cadine Bramwell
Colleen Bramwell
Colliet Bramwell
TaVashane’ J Brown
Tyauna Lekisa Bryant
Michelle R. Bundy
Henry Edward Capers Jr
Jaquan Davon Carlisle
Keith Maurice Crawford
Kendrick Cunningham
K’shjuan D. Davis
Danyelle Antoinette Duckworth
Ebony Alycia Ellis
Keshell Evans
Davetta LeAnn Faulcon
Cianna Christal Li Fisher
Shanika L. Harris
Chanelle Leslie Hatton
Clarence Anthony Jackson, Jr.
Zechariah Lawrence Jackson
Brittany Patricia Jennings
Justin Leon Jones
Jessenia Elizabeth Keenan
DeAsia LaShay Lewis
Meghan Kichelle Mahon
Aaron Kendall Manning
Jalisa Nicole Nichol
Ja’Quice Oates-Bethea
Tyler Michael
Anthony Packer
Naya Patterson
Kayla Pettaway
Mikayla Pettyjohn
Karen Lizbeth Pichardo
Laguna Maya
Orabelle Presson Kennethra
Alicia Price
Jasmine Rios
Christian Denise Roberson
Warel LeAnn Smith
Isis Nakiia Thomas
Fred Waters
Ashley Shree Watson
Daja White
Malika Wood
Meranda Marie Zanni

 School Awards

Outstanding Senior Student: Jaquan Carlisle
Accounting: Keshell Evans
Business Administration: Rebecca Bondima
Computer Information Systems: Jaquan Carlisle
Computer Science: Nenfort Golit
Sport Management: Lakiya Rouse

School Award for Outstanding Senior: Sanya D-Ann Pettiford
Criminal Justice Award: Mary Emma Williams
Organizational Management Award: Ashley C. Jones

School Award for Outstanding Senior: Devin Hudson
Education Award: Devin Hudson
English Award: Leah Waldo
Media and Communication Award: Adonica Stewart
Visual Arts Award:Cianna Fisher
Theatre Award: Christopher Acevedo

School Award for Outstanding Senior: Michelle Bundy
Biological & Physical Sciences Award: Colleen Bramwell
Mathematics & Engineering Award: K’shjuan Davis
Public Health and Exercise Science Award: Maya Presson

Award for Outstanding Senior: Naya Patterson
Criminal Justice Award: Naya Patterson
History Award: Cadine Bramwell
Political Science Award: Ebony Ellis
Psychology Award: Colliet Bramwell
Sociology Award: Montel Baines

(Basic Level): Cadet Dion Casey MS
(Advanced Level): Cadet Austin Jamal Keith

Young Men’s Leadership Academy Student: Conner Hughes
Young Women’s Leadership Academy Student: Emma Huffman