February 2019, Sports

Gathright selected to all-CIAA team

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (Feb. 25) – Saint Augustine’s University guard Tyre Gathright (Sr./Wilmington, NC) was named to the All-CIAA Men’s Basketball Team for the second straight year on Monday.

The Men’s and Women’s All-Conference Teams were announced during the CIAA Tournament Tip-Off Awards Breakfast inside the Charlotte Convention Center.

Gathright, a 6-foot-4 guard, ranks third in the CIAA in points per game (20.8). He also ranks sixth in the conference in field goal percentage (46.5) and tied for 11th in three-point field goals per game (2.0).  The Falcons’ senior plays 35 minutes per game, which ranks fifth in the CIAA.

A Preseason All-Conference pick, Gathright was selected CIAA Player of the Week three times this season. He scored in double figures 24 of 26 games including 20 or more points in 18 contests. The SAU guard pumped in a career-high 40 points in a win over Livingstone College on Feb. 20. Gathright has made the All-CIAA team both years since arriving at Saint Augustine’s University last season.

Gathright is one of five guards on the 12-player All-CIAA men’s team, which is listed below. He will lead the Falcons against Lincoln (Pa.) University in a CIAA Tournament first-round game on Tuesday, Feb. 26, at 6:40 p.m. The site is Bojangles’ Coliseum in Charlotte, N.C.

Men’s All-CIAA Backcourt

Amir Hinton, Shaw University

Roger Ray, Livingstone College

Tyre Gathright, Saint Augustine’s University

Cameron Campbell, Lincoln University

Robert Colon, Winston-Salem State University

Men’s All-CIAA Frontcourt

William Crandell, Winston-Salem State University

Lydell Elmore, Livingstone College

Jahmere Howze, Virginia State University

William Jenkins, Virginia Union University

Saiquan Jamison, Bowie State University

Roddric Ross, Johnson C. Smith University

Deaquan Williams, Lincoln University (PA)

Men’s Player of the Year – Amir Hinton, Shaw University

Men’s Defensive Player of the Year – William Jenkins, Virginia Union University

Rookie of the Year – Demarius Pitts, Virginia Union University

Men’s Coach of the Year – Lonnie Blow, Virginia State UniversityA